Deeper and Deeper

Standing on the beach. You say “It’s alright.” My mind screams “It’s a lie.” I stay there the water coming closer to me. I start to panic as it hits my feet looking to you. “It’s alright” you reply calmly from the hill. “It’s a lie” The voice in my head screams again. The water starts getting deeper. I look to you “It’s alright” You say as you move farther away. “It’s a lie”The voice screams trying to get me to move. I stay the water is deeper reaching my waist now I look to you as you start to climb up the stairs to the road “It’s alright.” “It’s a lie”The voice tries one last time. The water gets deeper now to my shoulders. I look to you only a dot in my line of vision”It’s alright”Your voice is faint and it echos down to me. The voice in my head doesn’t speak up now. The water keeps getting deeper and deeper. There is no voice trying to get me to stay, but there is no voice trying to draw me out.

Leave a Reply

