Compassion

I’m a sixteen year old female, and to some people that means I don’t get a say or I don’t have a voice. But I’m here. I have a voice. If the adults won’t use theirs to speak out when something is wrong, we will have to do it. I will do it.

You know, our President said, “Just kiss. I don’t even wait. When you start, they let you do it. You can do anything…Grab them by the pussy. You can do anything.” I don’t know if you understand that what he just described was sexual assault. He insinuated that rape is okay. I hope our House members didn’t understand what he was insinuating when they voted him into office. That’s what I would like to believe because I don’t want to live in a world where people will allow our president to teach kids that it’s okay to not ask for consent. I don’t want society to teach people that it’s okay for someone to kiss them or “grab them by the pussy” without consent. I don’t want them to ever think that they have no say in it. Everyone should know you need to get consent before doing anything to anyone. We should not have anyone, let alone our president, telling people that it’s okay to degrade others.

Our president just made a ban that prohibits all Syrian refugees from entering the U.S. until further notice. “4.8 million Syrians are refugees, and 6.1 million are displaced within Syria; half of those affected are children,” according to worldvision.org. That means we are banning almost 5.45 million kids, most of which have no one to take care of them. Well, no one except the world. If we close our doors to those 5.45 million children, who else will shut theirs? What if everyone does? Who will help those kids?

My English teacher today told me that the main thing Christians are here for is compassion. While I believe that is true, I also believe the attributes of a good person would include being compassionate. Compassion, verb, meaning sympathetic pity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others. How can you claim to call yourselves Christians if you have no compassion for the children of Syria or no compassion for rape victims? How can you claim to be a good person when you show no compassion towards any of this?

2 thoughts on “Compassion

Leave a Reply

